Essie Good as Gold – Update to NOTD

I wanted to love Essie’s Good as Gold as much as I did as when I first applied it (Above picture). It was gorgeous! It was gleaming. It was certainly metallic. Almost Minx manicure-like, but subtler.

It is a very classy gold – not too yellow, not chintzy at all. The thing for me is it began to wear off and fade very quickly, way too quickly. I didn’t experience any chipping, just a significant disappearance of polish. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before.

I was pleased when I got significant color and opacity with just one coat. Now, if I knew it would fade after the first 2-3 days, I would have used more than one coat (To prevent impending color loss). Frequently, I don’t use polish with a top or base coat. Polish can (With some brands and colors) stay for 4-7 days without. With this polish you need both for it to last (And, I’m not 100% sure it will even help – I’m imagining it could, though).

The picture below is of my nails on the third day. I found the disintegration of color very odd. I can’t base my review on how well the polish stays with base or top coat because I did my manicure without. All I can say is that I’m disappointed with how the polish lasted. It’s a color that definitely needs some heavy-duty protection. If I had to give a rating of my experience with the polish, I’d give it a 3-4 out of 10. It just went from beauty to beast in no time flat. I’d give it an even lower score, but the polish is such a beautiful color, which is important to me.

In the future to give it the benefit of the doubt, I may get a really adhesive base coat like Nail Life Gripper Base Coat or CND Stickey Base Coat, one that really makes the polish stick to the nail and try it with a good top coat, possibly Seche Vite. I have some base and top coat, but they’re not the best, by any means. I’ve found that the top coat I have is minimally effective in preventing chips, which is why I skip it. Same for the base coat. I haven’t found my dream base or top coat, but I’m open to suggestions.

Did Essie Good as Gold work well for you? If so, what products did you use over and under it? Also, how many coats of polish did you use? Did it not work out well for you?

Just final thought: I really wanted to try Essie Penny Talk. It’s another metallic like Good as Gold. Due to the way Good as Gold faded on me, it makes me a bit wary of Penny Talks and how it will last… Do you think I should bother with Penny Talk? It’s just such a pretty, rose gold. I almost can’t resist, but I don’t want another disappointment on my hands (Literally).

Leave a Reply

