Face of the Day – Blue’s Hues

I don’t normally wear shimmery blue colors on my eyes. They’re just not usually my thing; they’re far too fairy tale princess glitter ball for me. I wanted to try these L’Oreal Infallible shades that I received from a makeup artist friend, though, and got curious when looking through my stash.

Here is a shot of all the things I used to create the look:

All things used from left: Cerave PM face moisturizer, Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation, Revlon eyelash curler, elf C brush, elf eyeshadow brush, Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies waterproof mascara in black, Milani Shadow Eyez in Winter white, Milani Liquid Eyez eyeliner pencil in blue, Prescriptives Longwear Kohl eyeliner in black, Wet ‘n Wild brow and eyeliner in Charcoal/#655, Ardell Brow Grooming Pencil, Revlon Colorstay translucent powder, MAC 129SH blush brush, L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadows in Infinite Sky and Midnight, Beauty from the Earth blush in Love Child, elf blush in Shy, why are these scissors in this picture? Mysterious…, Origins blush brush and NYC Kiss Kiss lip gloss in Sugar Hill Shimmer #529.

 

For my skin, I used my Cerave PM face moisturizer with Urban Decay Naked Skin in shade 1.0 all over my face. I applied Naked Skin straight (Without the moisturizer) to conceal undereye circles and redness. I lightly dusted on Revlon Colorstay powder in Translucent (It has no color – just mattifies). I put elf’s blush in the color Shy on my cheeks and then over it I used Beauty from the Earth blush in Love Child.

For my eyes, I brushed L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadow in Infinite Sky all over my lid. I almost wanted to stop right there because of how pretty the color looked all by itself. The color is a very pretty, shimmery and frosty light blue. I don’t love frosts, but sometimes it’s fun to try new things. I didn’t end up stopping at just one color shadow. I put L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadow in Midnight in the crease with the elf C brush, which I’ve had for at least a couple of years and it’s still in great condition. I used the brush to blend it out. I used Milani Shadow Eyez 12 hour pencil in Winter White (I want to try the Forest Green Shadow Eyez some time) lightly on my brow bone and and on the inner corner of my eyes, both blended so it was a very subtle highlight. I lined my upper and lower lash lines with Milani Liquid Eye mechanical eyeliner in Blue. I lined the inner rims of my eye (upper and lower) with Prescriptives Longwear Kohl mechanical pencil (One of the darkest, blackest eyeliners I’ve ever used and it last relatively long on the waterline) in black. Problem: I checked their website and the Longwear Kohls aren’t being produced right now. I recommend using any black, soft kohl eyeliner in its place. I won’t use the kohl I own since it’s not being sold. I want to just use things that are still being made and easy enough to find if anyone wanted to recreate any of the makeup ideas. Sorry that I didn’t check beforehand. Won’t do that again! I curled my lashes and then used Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies Waterproof Mascara in black. I filled in the sparse parts of my eyebrows with my favorite, Wet ‘n Wild Color Icon Brow and Eyeliner in #655/Charcoal. To keep my rebellious brows in place, I ran Ardell’s Brow Groomer Pencil over them.

For my lips, I used Kiss Gloss by NYC New York Color in #529 Sugar Hill Shimmer, a pearly light pink color. Love this stuff! Feels really good on the lips, is tasty and I like how it looks.

Would I do this look again? I don’t know! The blues had more of a soft, soothing effect rather than them being jarring and annoying. What I want to do is try a couple other colors that are hopefully not overly frosty and shimmery and that apply just as richly and smoothly as the ones I tried.  I think I would really like the Infallible eyeshadows in colors I’m more comfy with, like low-key colors. Let’s see… I want to try L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadow in Golden Sage and Golden Emerald (I have a big green fetish this fall – no clue what caused that. Was never into greens in the past). The Perpetual Purple looks beautiful, but a bit too intense for my tastes at the moment. A couple of things are for sure: I love the soft, shimmery lip and the rosy cheeks.

I look a little “sad panda” here, but…  I like how the eye makeup looks like in it.

Are there any products you’ve tried recently that turned out to be winners? Have you tried a look that wasn’t really your style, just to see what a product is like? Anyway, have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Face of the Day – Blue’s Hues

  1. I love how the naked skin foundation looks on you, it’s very sheer and natural looking, sort of dewy even. it a good foundation overall? We don’t have it from where I am but i’m going to the states soon. i’ll get some if they’re any good :)

    • Hey, A lot of people like it, but it doesn’t nothing for me. I use Retin-A so it probably affects my opinion, but it seems to highlight where I’m dry and when I’m oily it slides right off.

Leave a Reply

